How do I use MyMedia to record my screen?

MyMedia is often used to host and share video content, but it can also act as a screen-capturing/recording tool. The functionality is simple but powerful and is best used when no editing is required (as there are no built in editing tools) but you can choose to download your recording and edit it in another tool.

1. Login to MyMedia

Visit MyMedia to login using your UTORid.

2. Go to "New Upload" and select "Record"

  1. Navigate to the top right of your browser and select on the green "New Upload" button
  2. On the pop up window, select "Record" to move to the next step of configuring your recording.

3. Select sources to record (display, video, microphone)

  1. Select Display if you plan to record your entire screen or an application open on your device.
  2. Select Camera if you plan to record yourself, a demo, or whatever is visible to your computer's built in or external webcam.
  3. Select Microphone if you plan to have your voice captured.
  4. Select "Next" after you've made your selections.

If you select to record both your display and your camera, the automatic recording produces two independent videos (it does not produce a picture-in-picture style video). If you record both, you might consider downloading the tracks and then editing them together.

3.1. Confirm your recording settings

In this example, the display (Powerpoint) and the microphone (wave file indicator) are being captured; the camera is not being captured.

4. Record your content

  1. Select the "record" icon: When you're ready to start recording, select the icon for recording.
  2. Use the "back" button if you'd like to re-visit your selections.

If you're recording for the first time (or maybe it's been a while), make sure to do a test video first. You want to make sure your audio is great, your camera feed looks good, and your display is configured as you'd like. The last thing you want to do is record a sixty minute lecture to find out that your microphone wasn't recording.

5. Select "Stop" to finish your recording

  1. Select on the "pause" icon/button to temporarily stop recording.
  2. Select on the "play" icon/button to continue recording.
  3. When finished, select "stop" to end your recording.

Since you likely won't be editing the videos, using the pause/play feature allows you to take a breath, rehearse, and plan your next segment. The recording will only include the sections where the recording was live, not the pauses.

6. Choose to download and/or upload your recording

  1. Select to "Upload" if you're happy with the content and want to share it with your audience.
  2. Select "discard and record again" if you'd like to try again; this will delete the recording and you will not be able to upload it during the next step.

7. After processing, confirm that your video has uploaded

7.1. Wait for your video to process

Video content can take quite a bit of time (depending on the video size and load on the service) to upload and become accessible. You'll want to ensure that your videos are uploaded well before you'd like to share them in order to allow for this processing to take place.

7.2. Test play the video

8. Share the video via URL or embed code

  1. Select on the "share" icon to open a pop up menu that provides links to the video.
  2. Copy the link, if you plan to share the link to your course.
  3. Copy the embed code (read about the difference between embedding and uploading), if you plan to embed the video within your course.

You can limit the accessibility of your video to the U of T community (UTORid login) or open it to the public. This has to be done per video. Even when limited to UTORid access, the video does not show up in a search, so you still need to link it within the course.