How do I share my Bb Collaborate recordings?
As of August 31, 2021, UofT will no longer license Bb Collaborate. Please see ACT's termination of Collaborate license memo for more details. We recommend reviewing our guide of currently available webinar tools for alternate options to host synchronous online sessions.
After recording your Bb Collaborate session (How do I record a Bb Collaborate session?), you can share it with others through Quercus or through a recording link. This guide details how to share your recording with students in your course in Quercus, or with guest participants not in your course by sharing the URL with them.
NOTE: If you share your video via a recording link, please keep in mind that access will no longer be restricted to just the students registered in your course (a password to view the session is not required). Anyone will be able to watch the recording as well as share the recording link with others. Check that you are not potentially releasing sensitive or confidential information in your video before you share a link of the recording.
1. How to share your recording in Quercus
Recordings are automatically available for viewing by students about an hour after the session (depending on session length and how long it takes the video to render) has ended. Students should follow the steps in the How do I access my Bb Collaborate Session Recordings? article to view the recording from the Bb Collaborate panel in their Course menu. With this method, video access is restricted to members of your course.
2. How to share a recording link
To share recordings with participants that are not in your course, you must allow public access to your video. This setting can be toggled on after you access the recording(s) you want to share.
- Click "Recording settings" in the "Recording options" menu for the session you want to make public.
- Check the "Allow public access" box (this is unchecked by default).
- Select "Save" for the change to take effect.
- Go back to the "Recording options" and select "Copy link" to copy the public link. You can now share the public link with anybody.