Support from FASE's Education Technology Office

How do I add Bb Collaborate to my course?

Updated Aug 27, 2021

As of August 31, 2021, UofT will no longer license Bb Collaborate. Please see ACT's termination of Collaborate license memo for more details. We recommend reviewing our guide of currently available webinar tools for alternate options to host synchronous online sessions.

Bb Collaborate Ultra is the licensed and supported webinar tool that is integrated into the Quercus Toolbox. In order to use Bb Collaborate, you must enable the tool in your course. This guide provides instructions on how to enable Bb Collaborate in your Quercus course shell.

Are you using a webinar tool for the first time? One of the most important things you can do is be clear to your students what your expectations are around participation in an online session. You might want to read further about the "hidden" curriculum of participating in an online session (see "8 Ways to Be More Inclusive in Your Zoom Teaching" - don't worry, the tips are platform agnostic!). There's a new etiquette for participating online - for both the instructor and the students - and the more you know, the more you can share about how your sessions will work within your course.

  1. Log into Quercus (see How to Login to Quercus for more information).
  2. On your Dashboard, select your Course (if you cannot see your course, see What should I do if I can't see my courses?)

2. Use the Course Settings to add the Bb Collaborate tool to your Course menu.

Select "Blackboard Collaborate Scheduling Manager" from the "Type" drop down menu.
  1. In your course, select "Settings".
  2. Choose the "Navigation" tab.
  3. Enable Bb Collaborate by selecting more options (the 3 dots).
  4. Then choose "Enable".
  5. To confirm your changes, select "Save".

Did you hit "save"? Often, the save button requires scrolling to see - and it is very easy to miss. If you've done the "drag n'rdrop" but are not seeing "Bb Collaborate" in your course, double check that you saved your changes.

3. Confirm "Bb Collaborate" is in your Course menu.

Name your new Tool Link.
  1. You should see Bb Collaborate in your Course menu. If you do not, then repeat the previous step Use the Course Settings to add the Bb Collaborate tool to your Course menu and ensure you press "Save" at the end.
Previous Article How can I enhance the security of my Blackboard Collaborate Ultra sessions?
Next Article How do I pre-assign groups and use them for reoccurring BB Collaborate breakout groups?
Still have questions? Contact the FASE EdTech Office